In Splits

MTV Splitsvilla is back in its sixth installment. With a hot theme and two equally hot anchors, this reality show aims at being the most liked one in its genre. Dusky seductress Sherlyn Chopra joins Nikhil Chinappa to host this season,  starting this May-end. Sangeeta Yadav meets the hot hosts. Excerpts of the talk

Sherlyn Chopra

sherlin chopra splitsvilla season 6

  • How was it to play cupid in the sixth installment of Splitsvilla?

I’ll be judging the hottest quotient of the participants. The newness in the show is that apart from the tasks, (which are way more difficult than what was seen in previous seasons) all of these participants will be competing to become the hottest one. Everyone will have to prove that they deserve to be a part of this show.

  • How hot is Nikhil Chinappa?

He is a very cool person (laughs) and has a great sense of humour. Nikhil loves his music which he says is his second love. He is also a workholic and takes his work very seriously. What I like most about him is that he is a very original person. He doesn’t feel the need to emulate any established actor. Nikhil is a clever actor who uses his strong points very well.

  • Why did you choose to do this show?

I realised that it’s easy to be an actor than an anchor or even a host. There are a set of lines given to the actor to learn within a given time period. But anchoring requires presence of mind and command over the language. When MTV offered me this role of a co-host cum judge, I was very keen to be a part of it. I feel I was always cut out to be an anchor.

  • How has your experience been so far?

Although I’m perpetually bickering that I don’t get enough time to sleep all thanks to the hectic schedule, I’m inwardly very pleased to be a part of Splitsvilla. For me, this show is by far the most entertaining reality show on TV.

  • How is Kamasutra 3D, the film shaping up?

We haven’t started work on this project yet. The plan is to make an official announcement during the Cannes Film Festival. Post which we will start shooting at a mad pace.

  • How do you deal with controversies?

I just ignore them. I know I can’t change the mindset of people. So for me, it’s ok. If they want to be nitpicky and think whatever I’m doing is not right, they are free to live with that thought. Many people had problems with me shooting for a Playboy magazine. But I feel that was the best work of my life till date. I would like to live with this thought.

  • Your take on Goa Government’s decision to not launch the Playboy lifestyle magazine?

Playboy lifestyle does not endorses nudity, it is a magazine that promotes an ultra luxe lifestyle. From living and dining room must-haves to details about some products, the magazine is like any other feature.

  • What plans for the future?

I’m planning to get married by the end of this year, but I cannot reveal anything about my boy friend at this juncture. It won’t be fair to drag him into all this now. Everyone will know when the time comes.

Nikhil chinappa

Splitsvilla-Nikhil-Chinapa

  • How is this season of Splitsvilla different from the previous ones?

First, the theme is hot as hell. Second, we are shooting in the backwaters of Kerela — both make it a fascinating experience. The format of the show is just the same. We are hoping that the participants will do the rest. The tasks are interesting and spicier than the usual ones.

As far as tasks are concerned we have gone a step ahead. We have introduced a Book of Hell Dumping Zone which would bring unpredictable situations in the entire episode. The dumped couple would now get a super power through this book and whatever is written in the book, they would have to follow blindly.

  • Tell us about the contestants?

There are eight boys and eight girls who would be competing to become the king and queen of Splitsvilla 6. All of them are very hot and have done their best to be in the show. This season we have a great mix of people and each participant is an interesting character.

While most of them are doing very well, there is one person who is a hit with the girls. He is strong and well built, a man who wants his actions to speak louder than his words.

Among the girl contestants we have a tom boy who doesn’t have many feminine traits. She is the odd one out. But she fares the best in the tasks that have been given to her.

  • How do you manage your routine during Splitsvilla?

I look forward to Splitsvilla every year because it’s like a one-month forced lock up. I can’t go anywhere. It’s like a vacation and also gives me free time to work on my music. In Mumbai, we are always running, attending to some or the other errand.

  • How do you keep yourself fit?

Mentally, I’m training a bit harder. My fitness schedule is more towards recovering rather than building muscles. In the Splitsvilla setting, I think I’m the most unfit among the crowd. Some of the contestants have great bodies to flaunt.

  • What will be the winner take away?

We provide these contestants a platform to establish themselves in the entertainment industry. They are also exposed to the telly world. The winner gets Rs2.5 lakh.

(The article was published in the Pioneer Newspaper – http://www.dailypioneer.com/sunday-edition/sunday-pioneer/small-screen/splitsvilla.html).
Leave a Reply

