‘The young sexy bad guy’

Martial Arts expert-turned-actor Sameer Ali Khan who made his Bollywood debut with Krrish 3 opposite Hrithik Roshan, will be seen in a Hollywood movie Rock The Kasbah in a negative lead opposite Hollywood greats Bruce Willis, Bill Murray, Kate Hudson, Zooey Deschanel and others. Khan also has a part to play in Farah’s Happy New Year where he has to beat up SRK. Sangeeta Yadav chats him up
 
  • You were a martial artist, what prompted the Bollywood dream?

My main aim was to work in Bollywood. And martial arts was my ticket to the film industry. Before my stint with the Hindi film industry, I was a part of two low-budget Afghani films but those projects did not excite me. At first, my family was not willing to send me to India. They wanted me to finish my education before going anywhere. I promised my mother that I’ll finish my studies in India and pursue my hobby side-by-side. I auditioned for Krissh 3 and got selected for the negative role of Ant Man. Since then there has been no looking back.

  • Do you see yourself as a big Kung Fu star in Bollywood?

I have a long way to go before I get noticed in the industry. As of now, I am happy with whatever little is coming my way. Ultimately, I want to see myself as an action hero.

  • Tell us about your role in Happy New Year?

I’m Bob who is the bad guy that dares to fight with Shah Rukh Khan. It took us six days to wrap up this particular fight scene. Working with SRK is like a dream come true. I got to learn a lot from him. He is very hardworking man and I thoroughly enjoyed my time with him.When I complimented him on his achievements he said — ‘mai bhi pathan hu’. He is a versatile actor.

  • What was the first Bollywood film that you watched in Afghanistan?

Under the Taliban, we are not allowed to watch a film in the theatres. If we are caught committing such a crime, we are given corporal punishment. In my house we did not have a TV. I used to sneak out of home to watch rented VCDs at a friend’s place. With great difficulty I saw Deewana. I used to love watching Hindi drama but I hated the singing and dance part in the film. I would watch that on fast forward mode. And here I am, sharing screen space with Hrithik Roshan who is one of the best dancers in India! When I first watched Hrithik Roshan in Kaho Na Pyar Hai, I had never thought that I’ll be working with him one day.

  • How is your Hollywood movie Rock The Kasbah, shaping up?

The shoot is over and the movie is set to release in April 2015. In this film, I’ll be seen in a different avatar. This role was god-sent. Can you imagine a boy like me acting with legends like Bruce Willis, Bill Murray, Kate Hudson and Zooey Deschanel! It was the happiest moment of my life when Willis tagged me in one of our stills as ‘the young sexy bad guy’.

  • Who do you look up to in the film industry?

There are so many inspirational actors. Bruce Lee, Akshay Kumar and Sunil Shetty are my action icons  but I also want to work with Ajay Devgn who has one of best bodies in Bollywood.

 (The article was published in The Pioneer Newspaper-
http://www.dailypioneer.com/sunday-edition/sunday-pioneer/backpack/2014-10-04-6049.html )

 

Leave a Reply

