‘Am happy and content’

 She was down and out a few years ago but Riya Sen is bouncing back with big releases this year. The dusky Bengali beauty tells SANGEETA YADAV that she will only consider meaningful roles in B-wood
On her upcoming releases

I’m thrilled about The Family Album and Kolkata Calling. In both the films, I play a rebellious teenager who faces a lot of family issues. In The Family Album, my character does things which  turn out to be detrimental to myself. Whereas in Kolkata Calling, my character withdraws and becomes a complete introvert. Moon Moon Sen will be playing my on-screen mother in this film.

Motka and Roga Hobar Shohoj Upaay are the two Bengali romantic comedies that I look forward to. In Motka, I play a desi  girl who lands up in London and she turns her friends life upside down. In RHSU, I play a glam girl.

On bollywood

I haven’t received a good offer from  Bollywood and so, I have been missing from the scene. But I have been busy doing more meaningful cinema and I am in my happy space.

On how she prepares

I do a lot of pre-planning before the actual shooting starts. All the films that I’ve chosen after Noukadubi are challenging ones.

On Suchitra and Moon Moon Sen

They have been my biggest strength. My grandmother and mother have always believed in my sister and me. They have taught us that there’s much more to life than films.

On a film that will always remain special 

Rituparno Ghosh’s Noukadubi changed my life. He gave me this opportunity when the media had completely tarred my reputation with false reports. He’s the only who showed faith on me.  Subhash Ghai, the producer of Kashmakash, Paying Guests and Noukadubi, is also my greatest mentor.

On Shweta Basu Prasad’s case

It’s true that these actresses are easily victimised and I think that’s very unfair. I feel the media should stop making mountain of a molehill.

 

 (The article was published in The Pioneer Newspaper-
http://www.dailypioneer.com/sunday-edition/sunday-pioneer/backpack/am-happy-and-content.html)

 

 

Leave a Reply

