‘Mom is the best and worst critic’

After giving us hits like Always Kabhi Kabhi,Fukrey and Bobby Jasoos,27-year-old Ali Fazal says his recently released film Sonali Cable,was a great learning experience for him. He tells SANGEETA YADAV that he would love to foray on TV with a new version of Dekh Bhai Dekh and Nukkad
  • Tell us about your role in Sonali Cable?

I play Raghu Pawar who is a childhood friend and a lover of Sonali played by Rhea Chakraborty. The movie is a David and Goliath story. Raghu helps Sonali to set up the cable centre to be able to fight the corporate takeover. My role in many ways is the voice of these people at the cable centre.

  • Is the story based on a real life incident?

Yes, some of the characters are based on real life stories that were witnessed firsthand by our director and writer Charudutt Acharya.

  • How can you relate to the character in real life?

The way I calculate my exits when I enter a room for the first time. It’s an old habit I’ve had since I was a child. My character in many ways is doing that throughout the film.

  • Any learning experience during the making of the film?

I learnt a lot in one of the scenes that Ramesh Sippy had directed. It required more choreography than instinct because it’s an emotional and intimate scene. It was a new way of approaching a scene.

  • Is there a scene where there were a lot of retakes?

The one where Rhea slaps me (laughs). I think it was a scam on the set and I was conned.

  • How was your experience working with everyone on this project?

Working with Rhea Chakraborty is a roller coaster ride with ups and downs. People say we’ve a good chemistry. We’ve become friends now. Raghav Juyal, who is a famous dancer and choreographer and has played Saba in this film, is a stress buster. One of the most innocent souls I’ve met.

I wish I would’ve had shared a longer screen space with Anupam Kher. I used to watch his  scenes and rushes to get an idea of how our fight against him will be and our attitude in the film. He sets the bar real high. Swanand Kirkire is a far far superior actor than a lyricist so you can imagine. He gave me my most cherished love song in Bobby Jasoos.

  • How is Charudutt Acharya as a director?

Chaaru is our captain. I salute him for putting so much trust in me. Sometimes, I had to force him to direct me because he  has always told me that tu sambhaalega. He gave us our flesh and blood in this skeleton called Sonali Cable.

  • What do you think about the filmmaking style of producers Ramesh and Rohan Sippy?

The legendary name Sippy lives by the code of evolving with times and they are the coolest people alive in Bollywood today. Sholay was meant to be, Sonali Cable is also meant to be.

  • Is there a message in the film?

Ek cheenti bhi haathi ko disco kara sakti hai. Bas sahi jagah ghusni chahiye. This is the moral of the story and we have shown it to perfection.

  • Your take on Bollywood…

The industry works on the principle of each to his own and yet forgets you if you’re out of sight for too long. It’s growing at a pace where the economy doesn’t affect it no more. The people are getting smarter and films are getting cooler.

  • Would you be interested to work on TV shows?

Not at the moment. But if given an opportunity, I would  love to work in the new versions of Dekh Bhai Dekh and Nukkad.

  • Who is your best and worst critic?

My mother is both my best and worst critic. Out of the all the movies that I have done so far, she only liked me in Bobby Jasoos.  From the industry, Dia mirza and Sahil Sangha. They’ve guided me all the way. I owe my success to them.

 (The article was published in The Pioneer Newspaper-  http://www.dailypioneer.com/sunday-edition/sunday-pioneer/backpack/mom-is-the-best-and-worst-critic.html)

 

 

Leave a Reply

