Singh and Zafar Kill many Dils

Ranveer Singh and Ali Zafar from Kill Dill movie

Ranveer Singh and Ali Zafar from Kill Dill movie

Ali Zafar and Ranveer Singh tell SANGEETA YADAV about their killing moment in Kill Dil, their experience shooting with legendary actor Govinda and their upcoming projects

 

Everything is fair in love and war and it takes a hunk (read Ranveer Singh) and a cutie pie from across the border (read Ali Zafar) to sell this idea to you. These two powerful killers perform every action there is in the book to win the dil of their heroine — played by Parineeti Chopra.  Ali Zafar as Tutu and Ranveer Singh as Dev, will face off and do just about everything to win Disha, in their upcoming romantic-action Kill Dil to be released on November 14.

For Ranveer Singh, this film is a dream come true in many ways. “Since childhood, Govinda has been my idol. I’ve grown up  dancing to his numbers and trying to mimic him in his mannerisms. I aspired to be like him one day. But I never thought that I’ll be sharing  screen space with the iconic star in Kill Dil.

“Also working with director Shaad Ali, whom I know from the past 14 years, was a great experience. Shaad and I used to joke often that one day he’ll become a director and I’ll be acting in his film. This actually happened with Kill Dil. It’s  déjà vu,” Singh  tells you.

He adds that sharing  screen space with Govinda was the most ‘killing’ moment for him. “I was very nervous when we shot together. It took me a while to settle down on the sets. Not every day do you get to work with a legendary actor like Govinda. My chemistry with him was of a guru-cheila and I was amazed to see his spontaneous and effortless acting. At one moment, he would be the fun-loving Govinda that we all love and in a fraction of a second, he would be a different person. It was a great learning experience,” Singh recalls.

Talking about his ‘killing’ moment in the film, Ali Zafar said shooting the sniper rifle for the first time was his most awesome moment. Also, riding a heavy bike in high speed on the highway was a great challenge. “We were shooting on the roads of Old Delhi where I had rev up my bike to unbelievable speed. A group of bikers came on the spot thinking that I’m a new racer in the block and started racing with me. I too pumped up the accelerator  and raced with them. I am never going o forget this experience ever,” he tells you.

Singh has largely portrayed a bad lover boy on screen be it Ladies vs Ricky Bahl, Lootera, Goliyon Ki Raasleela… Ram-Leela, Gunday and his upcoming films Kill Dil and a period drama — Bajirao Mastani. “I like to portray a complex character that has a lot of shades. A bad guy with a good heart attracts me the most and somehow these kind of character find their way to me. Even in Kill Dil, Dev is raised to be a killer but ends up falling in love with Disha,”  the perpetual romeo, says, adding that he aspires to play an out-and-out negative role and work on a film which targets a broader audience.

“I would also love to play a part in a nice happy entertaining masala film that can be watched by children, parents and elders. I have done a lot of intense roles, now I want to take up fun films. I’ve never played a negative role  and I would love to test myself with one. If someone offers me a role like what Shah Rukh Khan had in Anjaam and Baazigar, I’ll grab it with both hands,” he explains.

Ali, too, wants to take up different roles and push himself to take up challenging roles. Though he is busy working on his  upcoming album, he feels happy that his item song Nakhriley from Kill Dil is rising up the charts.

“Singing is my first love. Recording the song with Shankar Mahadevan and Mahalakshmi Iyer was too much fun. And shooting for it was like attending a party. There were around 120 dancers and Parineeti, Ranveer and I had a blast. My look in this song is a bizarre cowboy style. The song also has a small desi tribute to Michael Jackson,” Ali tells you.

It was none other than Ranveer Singh who prompted  Parineeti Chopra to take up a career in Bollywood. Kill Dil is their second film together after Ladies Vs Ricky Bahl. “Parineeti has huge  potential as an actress. She is beautiful and talented and loves to dance. In short, a perfect package for bollywood. I am not bragging but Parineeti is here because I prompted her to be so. She joined acting classes and bagged her debut role opposite me. She is a trained singer too,”  he says.

Known as the brat in the industry, Singh says he will never change because that is what makes him fun to be with. “I’m by default a mischief monger. Some call me mastikhor  but I would not call myself naughty. I love making people laugh. I’ve am not ashamed in declaring that I am a spoilt brat and an entertainer in real life as well,” he says.

We get that.

  (The article was published in The Pioneer Newspaper-  http://www.dailypioneer.com/sunday-edition/sunday-pioneer/backpack/singh-and-zafar-kill-many-dils.html)

 

Leave a Reply

