“Owe it all to Anurag Kashyap,” says Gulshan Devaiah

Gulshan Devaiah

Gulshan Devaiah

His claim to fame was being KC of Shaitan. Gulshan Devaiah is back with 3 super movies — Cabaret, Love Affair and Ishq Uncensored. He talks to Sangeeta Yadav about how he faced failures and depression and much more

  • How is Cabaret, Love Affair and Ishq Uncensored shaping up?

It’s going great. I’ve just finished shooting for a cameo in Vivek Agnihotri’sJunooniyat. I’m already nervous and finding it difficult to even think of doing three projects together. The fact is that I am used to take on only one project at a time. Ideally, that’s the way actors should work. Unfortunately, what has happened is that all three are plumb roles. I couldn’t say no to anyone. I am working hard for my upcoming projects.

  • What roles do you play in Pooja Bhatt’s Cabaret and Love Affair?

Cabaret is a romantic drama with Richa Chadda where I’ll be seen as an investigative journalist. Whereas Love Affair is a period drama where I don a naval officer’s role who shares a complex relationship with his wife and her lover that is played by Kalki Kochelin and Ali Fazal. It’s a work of fiction but the character and certain situations are similar to what happened in the Nanavati case in 1959 murder case. Both the characters are completely different from each other in terms of look and the kind of attitude they carry.

  • Do you get nervous with your projects?

Every time I start a new film, on the first day I feel like ‘My God why am I doing this? I should not do this. I think I’m under prepared.’ No matter how confident you are as a person and how much effort you put in on first day, trips to the toilets is guaranteed.

  • How do you face your failures?

Whenever I’m depressed, I prefer to stay in bed. Whether some girl has broken my heart, I failed in an audition or my movie bombed at the box office, I don’t get out of my house till I get over it. Sometimes, it takes three hours or even a week. I think when you sleep, you relax and you get time to spend with yourself and try to figure out why this happened and what is upsetting you.

  • Did you ever go through this phase?

It happened in 2012 when Anurag Kashyap was producing a tele-series for a channel. It was a very interesting concept and also starred Radhika Apte, Satyajit Mishra and Vinod Nagpal. I played a police officer. We shot it like a film and the pilot episode was over. I was very happy with the way it was shaping it. But it didn’t take off. Because of this tele-series, I was not taking up any work. For a couple of weeks I was very upset as I had invested a lot mentally and physically for this project.

  • Anurag Kashyap has helped you a lot in this industry…

I have a lot of respect and gratitude for him. When I came to Mumbai, I knew nobody and had no contacts in the entertainment industry. I hardly used to go for the auditions. Anurag gave me a break in That Girl in Yellow Boots and recommended me to Bejoy Nambiar  for the role of KC in Shaitan.  That worked out really well for me and people still remember me as KC.

  • Have you got used to the stardom yet?

There is always a pressure with stardom which I don’t want right now. I don’t like PR driven stardom as it is fake and only for a short duration. For me, a true stardom is like when you go out of your house, 10,000 people gather to see you. I don’t know whether I’ll be able to handle this kind of stardom or not.

  • Having done seven films, how would you sum up your journey till now?

I have tried to take up difficult projects all the time. I would not like to repeat myself as an actor and get as much variety as possible in my work.  Entertainment industry is very volatile. Today you are hero, tomorrow you are zero. I’ve not failed miserably in my career. I want to experiment with myself and hopefully my success will be remembered more than my failure. This is what defines me.

(The interview was published in Pioneer Newspaper – http://www.dailypioneer.com/sunday-edition/sunday-pioneer/backpack/owe-it-all-to-anurag-kashyap.html)
Leave a Reply

