Gangaajal 2 for Vega

Vega Tamotia

Vega Tamotia

Vega Tamotia, last seen in Chittagong, has bagged Prakash Jha’s Gangaajal 2 where she’ll be playing the role of a village girl. She tells Sangeeta Yadav about her recent visit to Cannes for her short film Loves Comes Later and her upcoming project

  • Tell us about your film Love Comes Later showcased recently at 54th Semaine de la Critique in Cannes?

It is a short film which is now being turned into a feature film. I play Riz, a young girl who has come to America with big dreams. But she doesn’t have the required documents and is being smuggled into the country. The film is about her dilemma and the decisions she makes about her stay in the foreign country. It’s a real story about the real things that happen to people who come to America. The eleven minute short film was shot in New Jersey in a motel in December.

  • Director Sonejuhi Sinhamade is full of praises for you…

It was difficult to get into the shoe of the character. Finding truth in Riz’s experiences was the biggest challenge for me. But Sonejuhi and I rehearsed a lot. In fact, we even took classes together with a brilliant teacher in New York. We prepared much in advance and did many exercises to understand the character. Sonejuhi is an immensely talented director. She was constantly challenging me to give my best which is something that I have enjoyed doing and that has really pushed me to my limits. When it comes to work, she is well-prepared and has researched about the topic thoroughly. I am looking forward to working with her again in the future.

  • Cannes has become more about fashion instead of appreciating art cinema. What are your thoughts on that?

I think it is more about the media. Cannes is still about giving a platform for good films. I think the media likes to focus more on fashion and what clothes people like to wear out there. But in reality, it still is the mecca of filmmakers and film-lovers.

  • What do you have to say about the Cannes’s rule of only wearing heels on the red carpet?

I think it is very silly. Women should be allowed to wear whatever foot wear that they find comfortable  wearing. Personally, I find heels very  uncomfortable. I am all for flats, sandals and anything that adds to an outfit and is appropriate for the occasion but it need not necessarily be heels.

  • How is Gangaajal 2 shaping up?

The entire cast and crew have started filming about a few weeks before. My part is yet to start. I hear it is coming out really nicely and I am looking forward to being on the set and working with Prakash Jha along with Priyanka Chopra, Manav Kaul and rest of the team.

  • Tell us more about the character you play in Gangaajal 2?

I play a 18-year-old village girl who is an integral part of the film. Her character drives the entire story. I was in touch with Prakash Jha and met him when I was in New York. At that time he was scouting for a fresh face for his film. He found me appropriate for the character and offered me the role in our very first meeting. I was really overwhelmed. He praised me for my work in Chittagong and that raised my confidence a bit.

  • What are your views on Prakash Jha and his style of filmmaking?

He is someone who can really control his craft and his personality. I am just in awe of him. I think he is fabulous and I am super-excited to be working with him.

  • Did you get a chance to watch Masaan at Cannes?

Yes and I thought it was the most well-made, well-thought out film that I have seen in a very long time. From screenplay to narration and acting, everything was perfect. Director Neeraj Ghaywan has done a terrific job.

  • You are a self proclaimed movie buff. What is the latest that you have watched?

I saw Tanu Weds Manu Returns and I had a blast. That is exactly what a good Bollywood film is all about. TWMRhas all the ingredients of a masala film, it makes you laugh and cry at the same time.

  • Any director you would like to work with in future?

Apart from Neeraj, I would love to work with Vikram Aditya Motwani and Dibakar Banerjee.

(The interview was published in the Pioneer Newspaper – http://www.dailypioneer.com/sunday-edition/sunday-pioneer/backpack/gangaajal-2-for-vega.html)

Leave a Reply

