‘Tap the mood & you’re a hit’

01sukhi

SANGEETA YADAV chats up Internet music sensation Sukhe whose All Black is set to roll out in cyber space after he made heads turn with Jaguar

Back with their foot-tapping single All Black, Internet sensation Sukhe aka Sukhdeep Singh and his “partner in crime” Raftaar are waiting to reap a windfall.

“All Black is a special song as it talks about my fans. The lyrics goes like this: ‘Kali kali aankan, pake kale kale shoe, leke gaddi kali kali teri gali wadda, bache bache vich hit, kudiyan da Brad Pit, munda jattan da jawai tu bna le ghar da’,” Sukhe says.

The strategy for a hit is simple, says Sukhe.

“If a single becomes super hit among children and youngsters especially girls, that song has a long run. They are my main audience so I keep them in mind for all my compositions. All my songs are different from each other and that’s my speciality. I first observe the mood of the world and then brainstorm on ideas before making my music,” says Sukhe, whose first Punjabi song as music director Kalyug was  a super hit across TV channels.

Sukhe is inspired by Punjabi rapper Bohemia with whom he collaborated for the Jaguar song that garnered 10 million likes on YouTube.

“There are a lot of good artists but Bohemia is not just great but human too. I’m so inspired by him that I got his signature tattooed on my arm. Bohemia is a legend and getting a chance to work with him for Jaguar, is a big dream come true,” he says.

Sukhe’s interest in gaming and remixing songs using different softwares, sowed the seeds of his music. His journey took off when he shifted to Chandigarh for further studies.

“I took admission in engineering but switched to BSc, Graphics. One thing which remained constant was my passion for music. Coming from a middle class family from in Hisarpur, to earn some extra bucks, I used to make beats for rappers which clicked with the audience. Seeing my talent, my parents made a small studio for me to pursue this dream side by side. I didn’t stop my studies. That studio gave me the power to reach here,” Sukhe says.

Life was not easy but Sukhe never took a step back.

“In 2010, I started off as a music director and formed Musical Doctors for new artists. I created a bank with new artistes and went to various music labels. However,  nobody acknowledged my work and or heard out my music. That was a very difficult phase,” Sukhe says.

He underwent a makeover.

“After a lot of toil, I prepared a video and put it on YouTube. I weighed 104 kg back then and became a butt of jokes. I worked hard and lost 40 kg. From my hairstyle and fashion statement to tattoo and presentation, I left no stone unturned in giving myself a superstar feel,” Sukhe recalls.

The rapper now plans to become much bigger than just a Bollywood artiste.

“Bollywood is a big achievement but I want to be an international artist,” Sukhe says.

Leave a Reply

