‘Korean cinema is good cinema’

 

JOHN ABRAHAM talks to SANGEETA YADAV about his upcoming movie Dishoom, his love for Korean cinema and how he keeps himself fit

  • After stealing from a bank, racing cars and taking revenge, you’ll be seen playing a cop in Dishoom…

It’s a buddy cop film where I play Kabir Shergill. His mission is to find India’s top batsman within 36 hours who goes missing in the Middle-East. It’s a roller-coaster adventure with my co-partner Varun Dhawan aka Junaid Ansari. I am attempting such a film and format for the first time.

  • Was it a difficult film?

As compared to my previous films, this one has been pretty easy and we had a lot of fun shooting. I have done some good comedies like Garam Masala, Desi Boyz, Housefull, Welcome Back. And I’ve done action in Force, Shootout at Wadala, Race, Rocky Handsome. All of them were super hit. SoDishoom, a mix of both genres, is not out of my comfort zone.

  • Will we see a bromance between you and Varun Dhawan?

Definitely! One thing that you will walk out of the theater with is the chemistry between me and Varun. It’s a great combination of action by me and comedy by Varun that makes this film a full entertainer. Two completely different people coming together to solve a serious mystery and yet have light hearted-comedy and action packed punches.

  • You have been associated with a lot of Korean film adaptations…

I like Korean cinema as it has a great mix of good story and action. It’s very dark but you can show only that much gore to the Indian audience. I adapt them in my style. I think Rocky Handsome has the best action scenes ever seen on Indian screen. You might not have seen action like that. That’s the beauty of Korean cinema.

  • You have produced some good films under John Abraham Entertainment…

Be it Vicky Donor, Madras Café or Rocky Handsome, the attempt has always been to make good and entertaining cinema and to enjoy the process.

  • How do you manage to stay fit amidst a hectic lifestyle and unhealthy food?

I live a disciplined lifestyle and my intake is full of vitamins, omega 3-6-9, dietary fibres and proteins. Fitness and weight building is not something that I do just because the film demands but I follow it passionately off screen as well. That’s why when I promote a fitness and health brand like Sofit, it is a natural progression and I believe in it. The biggest disadvantage of being fit is being disciplined and sacrificing unhealthy food, alcohol and nightlife and things that make your life happy only temporarily.

(The article got published in Sunday Pioneer – http://www.dailypioneer.com/sunday-edition/sunday-pioneer/backpack/korean-cinema-is-good-cinema.html).

Leave a Reply

