Bollywood dreams

21gaurav

Gaurav Pandey tell Sangeeta Yadav how being a Delhiite got him his first film and his journey thus far

It was his Delhiite demeanour that got him his Bollywood break with Humpty Sharma Ki Dulhaniya (HSKD). From here, he went on to do YRF’s web series Man’s World and will now be seen in A Flying Jatt slated to release on August 25. Meet 26-year-old Gaurav Pandey, a budding actor from west Delhi, who left his management course in the US to pursue his acting dream.

“I got my break in Bollywood only because I am a Delhiite. I was doing ads for four-five years and it was on that basis that they called me for the auditions. They selected me because of the way I speak — like a true Delhiite. I played Shonty effortlessly and everything came handy in HSKD,” says Pandey, who will be seen playing Tiger Shroff’s brother in Flying Jatt.

Spending most of his life time in Delhi, Pandey feels that the city has made him the person that he is today.

“Unlike other people who have pre-conceived notions about Delhi people, I feel proud to be a Delhiite. Even though I have shifted base to Mumbai and staying with my elder brother Saurabh Pandey, who played Lord Krishna in Surya Putra Karn, I always come back to my roots, to my family who now stays in Gurgaon. I don’t need an occasion to visit  Delhi. It’s the love of my family that beckons me. Bina wapis jaye  maza nahi aata. Jab tak dilli ke darshan naa ho toh woh energy kaise aayegi,” he says.

After completing his Class VII from St Mark’s Senior Secondary Public School in West Delhi, Gaurav’s father sent him to the SelaQui International School in Dehra Dun. It was during that time that he explored his passion for performing arts. He graduated in Business Management in the US but his passion for acting made him return to Delhi.

“During my school days, I explored my creative side and joined various performing arts. I went to the US to study Business management in  California but my heart was not in it. Halfway through the programme, I quit and came back to Delhi to pursue my acting dream. My father was shocked that I had come back home. But he supported my decision and sent me to Mumbai the next day where I started featuring in ads. The good part about ads is that one has to show so much in just a few seconds. I also joined an acting course in Kreating Charakters Acting Institute and used to knock every door to hunt for work. I used to go for auditions everyday and wait for hours to get a shot and give an hour long test,” he tells you.

He knows that there is competition but he feels he has the talent to survive and make a place for himself in the industry.

“I have so many friends who go through a low phase in their life since they have no family support and have to really struggle. I may have had to struggle to get work but at least I was financially stable. It’s not easy to get work in Mumbai. So many people come here with dreams in their eyes. I am no longer dependent on my father. Hopefully a time will come when I’m taking care of my family,” Pandey says.

(The article got published in pioneer newspaper – http://www.dailypioneer.com/sunday-edition/sunday-pioneer/backpack/bollywood-dreams.html).

Leave a Reply

