‘Acting is the reason for my survival,’ says Rajat Tokas

rajat-tokas

After being in the limelight as Akbar, Rajat Tokas is back in yet another of Ekta Kapoor’s historical sagas Chandra Nandini wherein he will play Chandragupt Maurya. The actor talks to Sangeeta Yadav about the show, his association with Balaji Telefilms and the rumours about his on-set tantrums

Be it Jhansi Ki Rani, Prithiviraj Chauhan, Veer Shivaji or Ashoka, Maharana Pratap and Jodha Akbar, the stories about warriors and princesses have always fascinated the people and if it happens to be a TV show, it is bound to grab the eyeballs. So, it is not surprising that Ekta Kapoor’s new historical drama Chandra Nandini, inspired from the life of Chandragupt Maurya and his love story with Princess Nandini has already become the talk of the town. Rajat Tokas, who played Akbar in Jodha Akbar, will now be seen playing Chandragupt Maurya.

“The story of Chandragupt Maurya fascinated me and to step into the shoes of the character and be accepted by my fans is a big challenge. I have done research for my role but I don’t have any preconceived notions about the kind of person Chandragupt was. Right now, I am in a sculpting mode, following the script and director and starting from scratch, be it dialogue delivery, style, etc. Chandragupt was larger-than-life yet a human being. For me it’s all about portraying human emotions. I will not say anything more about the show, instead want viewers to explore. Let the show hit the small screen,” Tokas says.

Chandra Nandini, which will go on air on October 10, 2016 on Star Plus, marks Tokas’ fifth show with Ekta Kapoor and Balaji Telefilms. “After Jodha-Akbar went off air, she told me not to look for work anywhere else as she wanted me to work with her. I am grateful that she trusts me to play such intense roles in her shows like Tere Liye, Bandini, Jodha Akbar, Naagin. She is a very nice person. I consider myself an employee and never think that I need to impress her or befriend her to get more work. That’s why I don’t meet her very often or talk to her. I feel a sense of responsibility with the kind of trust that is pinned on me and try not to break it by performing below par at the sets,” Tokas says.

The 25-year-old actor feels that to differentiate each character, it’s important to stick to the script and switch-off from real life to prevent yourself from carried away or repeat the same thing.

“I believe in switching-on and switching-off from the character and try to make the environment as light as possible. Hence, I don’t even remember the lines of my previous characters because I am merely living the character. My teammates are confident that I will do my job well but I lack this confidence in me. I also make mistakes at work and learn from them. If I get carried away, there are people to correct me,” Tokas says.

During Jodha Akbar days, the actor was in news for his tantrums and not being approachable. But Tokas has a different take on it. “I could not have talked to people who were disrespecting me or using my name and fame to get publicity. There was a time when I was shown in a bad light. Before I could react to it, my team took up the matter to deal with it in the best way possible. I moved away from the limelight. Somebody very senior to me threatened me and said that he could make or break my career. I told him he was free to do what he wanted,” he explains.

Tokas is willing to go to any extent to give his best even if it requires him to put in more work hours. “Working for 12 hours is fine. There are people who do more hard work than me yet they don’t come into the limelight and get appreciated. For them, their profession is everything, the same is for me — my profession is the reason for my survival. I live and die for it,” Tokas says.

(The article also got published in Pioneer Newspaper – http://www.dailypioneer.com/show-time/acting-is-the-reason-for-my-survival.html)

Leave a Reply

